Policy Briefs

Oseloka H. Obaze (OHO) calls on Church leaders to speak truth to power



The immediate-past Secretary to Anambra State Government and a front line contender in the forthcoming governorship election in the state, Mr. Oseloka H. Obaze has called on church leaders to always speak truth to power. Mr. Obaze made this charge on Saturday while attending the third session of the third synod of the Anglican Diocese of Amichi held at St. James’ Anglican Church, Azigbo, Anambra State.
Mr. Obaze said there is “a vital role for those in the pulpit to speak boldly and raise alarm, where government has not done well or claims to have achieved more than it has delivered in real terms.” 

The former top United Nations’ diplomat asked clergymen to use their platforms to call on government to respond to unmet needs and to address critical sectors, where the society at large continue to experience immense deficits, especially in the areas of education, health care and social welfare”.

While commencing missions for building parochial schools and tertiary institutions, Mr. Obaze decried government’s poor funding of schools and advocated for state governments to dedicate 26% of their resources to education as recommended by the United Nations and then dedicate 10% of same to parochial schools. He noted that nationally, only Sokoto and Kwara states had met the UN recommended funding threshold. 

Earlier, the President of the Synod and the Bishop, Anglican Diocese of Amichi, Rt. Revd. Ephraim O. Ikeakor spoke on the need to contend for the faith and maintaining Bible standard.

Mr. Obaze commended Bishop Ikeakor for his doggedness and always speaking truthfully, regardless of whose ox is gored and concluded that the church can partner with the state in the best interest of the society.

Oseloka Obaze, MD & CEO

Oseloka Obaze, MD & CEO

Mr. Obaze is the former Secretary to the State Government of Anambra State, Nigeria from 2012 to 2015 - MD & CEO, Oseloka H. Obaze. Mr. Obaze also served as a former United Nations official, from 1991-2012, and as a former member of the Nigerian Diplomatic Service, from 1982-1991.

Leave a Comment