Policy Briefs

Obaze urge Nigerian media houses and journalists to combat false news and hate speeches

Selonnes Consult MD/CEO Mr. Oseloka H. Obaze has urged Nigerian media practitioners to combat the growing rampancy of false news and checkmate the excesses of social media, by being accountable and ensuring the veracity of the news they publish. While recognizing that the mainstream media does not enjoy the unregulated prerogatives of social media, he insisted that the credibility and value of news, depended on its veracity and curtailing of hate speeches. He said people should be quoted right and not out of context and urged practioners to eschew sensational reporting. Obaze spoke in Abuja on 2 December, 2016 at the inaugural session of the Council on Democracy, Stability and Media Accountability Project (DESMAP), established by Savannah Centre for Diplomacy, Democracy and Development (SCDDD). 
The mandate of DESMAP includes addressing the administrative and legal gaps that exist in the extant body of laws and codes of ethics on journalism and media practice, especially as it relates to the propagation of dangerous and hate speeches; and how to strengthen the regulatory frameworks on media and journalism practice as well as improve capacity of the agencies to check and sanction the broadcast and dissemination of dangerous and hate speeches.  

The 14-Member DESMAP Council include, Hon. Justice Mohammed Uwais, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, Ms. Asma’u Joda, Amb. Nkoyo Toyo, Mr.Sony Irabor, Mr. Segun Adeniyi, Ms. Joke Silva, Alh. Wada Maina, Mr. Jude Ilo, Mr. Oseloka H. Obaze, Mr. Samson Itodo, Ms. Yemi Ademolekun and Dr. Tom Adaba. 

Read additional report of event: http://intervention.ng/5825/


Savannah Centre Tackles Hate Speech in Nigeria

Oseloka Obaze, MD & CEO

Oseloka Obaze, MD & CEO

Mr. Obaze is the former Secretary to the State Government of Anambra State, Nigeria from 2012 to 2015 - MD & CEO, Oseloka H. Obaze. Mr. Obaze also served as a former United Nations official, from 1991-2012, and as a former member of the Nigerian Diplomatic Service, from 1982-1991.

Leave a Comment